Winning design to feature on Three outdoor campaign this summer

Ireland’s largest high speed mobile network, has unveiled the winner of its successful Blank Canvas art competition. Illustrator and Designer Mark Wickham beat 131 other entrants to win the competition, and in doing so received €2,000 and a new iPhone 4.

The brief for entrants was broken down into 3 distinct themes, namely ‘Freedom’, ‘Flexibility’, and ‘Speed’ which correspond to Three’s 3Pay, Flex and Broadband offerings. The artists were tasked with choosing one theme and expressing this as imaginatively as they could. Mark’s design entitled “Go to the beach all day” was a direct response to the Freedom brief and reflects Three’s commitment to giving customers more freedom to do what they want, when they want.  The design will accompany Three’s recently unveiled new brand identity in an outdoor media campaign scheduled over the summer.

In total 264 entries were received from 132 artists, and their work is currently listed here The winner and finalists have been chosen by a judging panel including BRENB, illustrator and director of The Small Print, Elaine Carey, Sales and Marketing Director, Three and Shay Madden, Creative Director, McCann Erickson.The category winners will receive a cash prize of €500 each.

Commenting on the announcement, Elaine Carey, Sales & Marketing Director at Three said: “I would like to pay tribute to the huge number of talented artists who submitted their work for consideration. We have been blown away by the size and quality of the response that this competition received. In the end there could only be one winner and I would like to congratulate Mark on his achievement, his eye-catching design is exactly the type of work we at Three will be looking to showcase with our bold new brand identity. We look forward to featuring Mark’s design on our outdoor advertising this year.

The 10 finalists for the competition were:

  1. Emma Louise Comerford – Over the city
  2. John Walsh – Jet Fox
  3. Derry Dillon – Flexible Waters
  4. Steve McCarthy – Mr Speedy
  5. Richard Malone – Wondrous Diving Aspirations
  6. Killian Dunne – Flexo Disco
  7. Maeve Keane – Hummingbird
  8. Mark Wickham – Go to the beach all day
  9. Laura Callaghan – Daydream
  10. Emmet Mullins – Freedom with Three

With the 3 category winners listed below:

  1. Emma Louise Comerford – Over the city
  2. Derry Dillon – Flexible Waters
  3. Steve McCarthy – Mr Speedy

All entries can be seen at